Unless you're using their private message option.

All week, I've been seeing these posts on Facebook about Instagram notifying users if their posts have been screen shot.

I know, you're thinking, "Michelle why are you taking photos of people's Instagram photos?"

Because I am very nosy. And sometimes I like to use screenshots for Christmas presents. I promise I'm not the only person who does it...

So the posts flying around Facebook and Twitter are teasing that other users will get a notification if you screen shot their post or their story.


The only way that any one will get notified, is if you screen shot the Snapchat-like private messages that disappear after you read them.

So you're safe to continue to screen shot your ex-boyfriend's recent post with his new cat. Or your co-workers weird rant about potato chips.