Take A Closer Look at Illinois’ Scott’s Law
Scott's Law, aimed at protecting police or other emergency vehicles stopped along the roadway, is just over two years old. Is the law strong enough?
Since the beginning of 2019, sixteen members of law enforcement have been injured or killed by drivers not moving over. Many have begun taking a closer look at Scott's Law, also called the Move Over Law, to see why so the law can become more effective. Too many people are not following the law.
Scott's Law took effect in Illinois on January 1, 2017. The law got its name from Lieutenant Scott Gillen of the Chicago Fire Department.
If you're not sure what Scott's Law is, take a closer look yourself, courtesy of wifr.com.
When behind the wheel, you must follow three rules:
- Change lanes if possible
- Reduce your speed
- Proceed with caution
This law applies when driving near all vehicles that display flashing emergency lights. This includes police, fire, EMS, tow trucks and road maintenance vehicles, in addition to other vehicles on the shoulder with their hazard lights activated.
If you violate Scott's Law, you could be fined up to $10,000. You might also have your license revoked:
- 90 days to one year if the violation results in damage of property
- 180 days to two years if the violation results in an injury
- Two years if the violation results in the death of another person
The Illinois State Police Department website has more you need to know about Scott's Law,