Illinois Businesses Can be Fined For You Not Wearing a Mask
Wear a mask.
Do I need to say it again? Wear a mask.
One more time for good measure ... Wear. A. Mask.
If you didn't have enough reason to before, here's hopefully a reason that will keep Illinois masked up through this pandemic. Governor Pritzker’s rule requiring businesses and schools to enforce the state’s mask mandate or face fines/penalties went into effect after it was approved by a legislative oversight committee.
So next time you decide you don't want to wear your mask at your favorite spot in Illinois, THEY could get in trouble for it. WGN details -
Penalties start with a written warning, and if they don’t comply, businesses can be ordered to remove customers from their property.
If businesses are still not enforcing the mask mandate, they can be subject to a Class A misdemeanor and fines ranging from $75 to $2,500.
This new regulation isn't for individuals, it's for the businesses these individuals shop and eat at. But just because you're not getting in trouble doesn't mean the business your at should have to for your misconduct.
It's stressful enough to operate a business during this pandemic. The last thing any employee needs right now is somebody giving them a hard time about wearing a mask. So how can this rule be enforced? According to WGN -
It will be up to local health departments to enforce the mask mandate.