Chicago Might Fine Travelers Thousands For Not Quarantining
Dang, Chicago is not playing games when it comes to the pandemic. Chicago health officials have slapped a mandate on its residents and its not a joke. The "travel quarantine order" officially began Monday, July 6, at 12:01 a.m. According to CBS-Chicago, the windy city's COVID-19 numbers have dipped and they want the trend to continue, hence this self-quarantining order.
Sure, it would be nice to get away for a little bit but Chi-town officials are warning residents "think twice" before getting away for a vacation or trip. There are even a chance travelers could get fined $100-$500 a day, with a max fine of $7,000. if they don't self-quarantine after visiting any and all of the following 15 states, Alabama, Arkansas, Arizona, California. Florida, Georgia. Idaho, Louisiana, Mississippi, North Carolina, Nevada, South Carolina. Tennessee, Texas, and Utah. But, how the city officials plan on enforcing this mandate is unclear. Some states have a task force in place to handle things, but not Illinois or Chicago. Here's what one health official told CBS-Chicago,
We do not have a plan to, for example, look for out of state license plates and pulled people over we or to create a list of people who are traveling and track them down.
This list of states may seem intense but CBS-Chicago reports Connecticut, New Jersey, and New York have even more states on their "no-go" list.
Be smart, be safe, wash your hands, don't touch your eyes, mouth, or nose, and wear a mask when you can't social distance. The mask isn't for you, it's for your friends, family, and neighbors that might have compromised health.
JB Love is ½ of Q98.5's Lil Zim & JB In The Morning, weekday mornings from 5:00 a.m. to 10 a.m. Follow him on Twitter, Instagram.